Jean-Denis Faure

Jean-Denis Faure

Embryogenesis, epigenetic control and seed size

Main research interests

Our group focus on two main questions associated with plant embryogenesis : (i) how cell differentiation is inferred by cell polarity and (ii) what cellular and subcellular mechanisms in particular those involving membrane lipids are governing cell polarity? We have identified cellular parameters like asymmetry that rules tissue organization during embryo development through 3D imaging and modelling. We are also investigating fatty acid elongation and their role in membrane dynamics and cell differentiation but also their potential in plant biotechnology (sphingolipid and nutrition, micropress project).

Selection of 3 major recent publications

Molino D, Van der Giessen E, Gissot L, et al. 2014. Inhibition of very long acyl chain sphingolipid synthesis modifies membrane dynamics during plant cytokinesis. Biochimica et biophysica acta 1842, 1422–30.

Roudier F, Gissot L, Beaudoin F, et al. 2010. Very-long-chain fatty acids are involved in polar auxin transport and developmental patterning in Arabidopsis. The Plant cell 22, 364–375.

Truernit E, Bauby H, Belcram K, Barthelemy J, Palauqui JC. 2012. OCTOPUS, a polarly localised membrane-associated protein, regulates phloem differentiation entry in Arabidopsis thaliana. Development 139, 1306–1315.


Institut Jean-Pierre Bourgin
UMR1318 INRA-AgroParisTech
INRA Centre de Versailles-Grignon, Route de St. Cyr (RD10)
78026 Versailles Cedex France


See also

Embryogenesis, epigenetic control and seed size

Lucia Colombo (University of Milan), Jean-Denis Faure (Labex SPS), Loïc Lepiniec (Labex SPS)

Seed coat differentiation and secondary metabolites of commercial interest

George Haughn (University of British Columbia), Isabelle Debeaujon (LabEx SPS), Helen North (LabEx SPS)

Seed reserve accumulation : yield and quality

John Harada (University of California), Sébastien Baud (LabEx SPS), Bertrand Dubreucq (LabEx SPS)

Desiccation and stress responses

Julia Buitink (INRA Angers), Christophe Bailly (UPMC Paris), Emmanuelle Issakidis-Bourguet (LabEx SPS)

Dormancy, germination and dispersal

Kathleen Donohue (Duke University),  Annie Marion-Poll (LabEx SPS), Loïc Rajjou (LabEx SPS)

Modification date: 12 December 2014 | Publication date: 28 November 2014 | By: Jean-Denis Faure